The Book Shed

Member of The Vermont Antiquarian Bookseller's Association
& The Anthony Powell Society

Lake Road Benson, VT 05743
Joseph Trenn Tel: 802-345-3081 or 802-537-2010

home | advanced search | about us | media | Links

Report of the Fifty-Seventh Meeting of the British Association for the Advancement of Science

Author: Sir H. E. Roscoe, Et Al
Price: $30.00
Publisher: John Murray
Publisher Location: London
Book Condition: Good
Pub Date: 1888
spine cracked, covers worn, rubbed, covers and pages dampstained to bottom edge. All plates present and correct, indexed, twenty four page catalogue of Murray's publications for January 1888. 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Hard Cover. The British Science Association (BSA) is a charity and learned society founded in 1831 to aid in the promotion and development of science. Formerly known as the British Association for the Advancement of Science (BA), in 2009 the Association rebranded itself and now uses its current name. The Association was founded in 1831and modelled on the German Gesellschaft Deutscher Naturforscher und Ärzte. The prime mover (who is regarded as the main founder) was Reverend William Vernon Harcourt, following a suggestion by Sir David Brewster, who was disillusioned with the elitist and conservative attitude of the Royal Society. Brewster, Charles Babbage, William Whewell and J. F. W. Johnston are also considered to be founding members. The first meeting was held in York (at the Yorkshire Museum) on Tuesday 27 September 1831 with various scientific papers being presented on the following days. It was chaired by Viscount Milton, President of the Yorkshire Philosophical Society, and "upwards of 300 gentlemen" attended the meeting. The Preston Mercury recorded that those gathered consisted of "persons of distinction from various parts of the kingdom, together with several of the gentry of Yorkshire and the members of philosopher societies in this country". The newspaper published the names of over a hundred of those attending and these included, amongst others, eighteen clergymen, eleven doctors, four knights, two Viscounts and one Lord.